Wellness WordPress.com weblog

bad-advice

As the disclaimer goes the names have been changed to protect the embarrassed.

One may imagine that as a wellness doctor I hear quite a number of referenced experts from some of my patients.

Hearing things like, “I read it on the internet.”  Or “My neighbor said . . . . “  Once in awhile I hear something that must be shared so that others will at least think twice before proceeding with certain remedies.  I have no problem with someone eating a tasty meal and then at some time in the near future having the idea that, “I can do that.” Then proceeding to experiment in the kitchen.  However, truly not a good idea with herbs or that toothache you may be feeling.

Also, it’s a good idea to leave the nerve system to the experts.

A patient entered my office today.  This person has been in my office for a variety of reasons over the years.  Today, however, the visit was prefaced with, “You are NOT going to be very happy when you hear what I did.”  Which in my mind I was thinking, “This patient is already NOT happy about what she did so I certainly do not want to make her feel any worse.”

Then it comes out.  “My friend said he has a sister who is a chiropractor and he said he knew how to twist my neck.”  As the story unfolded I could see that she was in much pain.  I also could see she was not moving very well.  All the friend could do is say “I’m sorry.”

bad-advice-1

After examining the area and making some corrections I was able to get her feeling much better.  She is VERY fortunate to get through this with just some torn muscles and soreness.  Which is typical of a minor whiplash injury.  However, I have seen many other more severe which resulted in permanent damage and severe injury.

However, it is worth emphasizing that just because you know someone in a particular profession, or have seen a professional performing does NOT make one an expert in the area.

Twisting someone’s neck can be very dangerous.  Especially when you are not trained in this nor is it likely you know the anatomy well enough to assess what is going on.

If you or someone you know has given you health advice and you are not sure if it is valid or not sure if it is sound I welcome you to contact my office and I would be happy to guide you in the correct direction.

Yours for Better Health, Dr. Shapero
EXPECT MIRACLES – WE DO
www.premierhealthcaresc.com

Leave a Reply

